Orders shipped every Wednesday ++ Free UK postage for orders over £50 ++ Free international shipping for orders over £150 ++ Please read this before placing your order

The Scottish League Cup: 75 Years from 1946 to 2021

Jack Fawbert

Regular price £16.99

Tax included.

From the publisher:

The Scottish League Cup is often wrongly described as the 'Cinderella' of Scottish football, as distinct from its two ugly sisters, the Scottish League and the Scottish Cup. Dating from the Second World War, it is certainly the youngest. The trophy is unusual, if not unique, in having three handles.

It is a major part of the Scottish season, and has been keenly contested for 75 years. Sixteen teams have won the cup. Unsurprisingly, the big Glasgow clubs have won it the most, but Aberdeen, Hearts, Hibs and Dundee have also tasted glory.

The trophy has also given the likes of Raith Rovers and Livingston their moments in the sun - and who could ignore the mighty deeds of East Fife, who won the cup three times in its first decade? Rangers hold the record for Scottish League Cup wins, but Celtic's victories have been more spectacular, not least their astonishing 7-1 triumph in the 1957 final. This book pays homage to each one of the 75 seasons, with a detailed account of every final.

The author:

David Potter has written many books on Scottish football, mainly on Celtic and the Scottish national team, but also on teams like Forfar Athletic, Newcastle United, Raith Rovers, East Fife and Dunfermline Athletic. In 2016, he co-authored a history of the Scottish Cup and this is seen as a companion volume. He hopes that this history of the Scottish League Cup will become an essential item for any Scottish football fan's bookshelf.


Pitch Publishing
22 x 14 cm
416 pages
February 2022